top of page

To Fight Another Day

My to-do list for the day:

-Get up and go to work (teach a class and tutor a student)

-Don't have a meltdown after spending energy going to work

-Rest when you're not at work

I accomplished #1 and #3 but I had a meltdown before I even left for work. I have experienced a huge increase in the symptom of anxiety this week, in addition to the flu-like symptoms. It's been ten days on this plan, and every day I've either been unable to go to all my work appointments or I've had a meltdown as a consequence of trying to push myself through work. So yesterday, I reduced my antifungal dose from 3 times/day to twice/day. So far I haven't noticed any effects of reducing my dose. I'm going to try and ride it out the rest of the week and reduce my work hours on Thursday; hopefully I won't need to reduce the dose more. I knew before I started this program that my body is sensitive to medicine and clears toxins slowly, so I probably should have expected to need to adjust the antifungal dose as well. But I'm stubborn and like to do things the hard way rather than change the plan.

However, I enjoyed a silver lining tonight: on the way to my late afternoon tutoring job, I prayed and expressed my frustration that I felt like I couldn't handle life right now and hadn't gotten the rest I needed all week. Then, my job ended early, I was able to find some organic, candida-friendly soup at Target so I could take a night off from meal prep, and I came home just in time for the 2-hour 19 Kids and Counting special (one of Michelle's favorite shows). We fixed tea and were just able to relax for a couple hours. I was so grateful to get a chance to reset.

I love reading Jonathan Milligan's blog at jonathanmilligan.com. His audience includes full-time business people, but one of his catch phrases is, "Sometimes the most productive thing you can do is rest." Tonight, I needed to stop trying to fix my circumstances and just re-fuel for tomorrow. Because I did that tonight, I will have a better chance of handling tomorrow with greater energy, peace, and enthusiasm.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page