top of page

Back in One Piece

After dropping off the face of the planet for a couple weeks, we're Bach and better than ever! These last few days have been an absolute rollercoaster. I'll start with the good: Michelle and I have been grain-free, minus a bowl or two of soup with wild rice, for many days now. Way to go, Michelle! She has discovered and fallen in love with the sweet potato, which has made this process much easier. Other treats that have helped us stay sane are occasional servings of dark chocolate; organic hot dogs; organic, uncured bacon; and Honest Fizz (organic soda sweetened with stevia).

Now the bad, pathetic, downright stupid, etc: Last weekend, Michelle played the lead in a major drama production for which I was Assistant Director. Because of all the extra work involved in the crazy tech week rehearsal schedule and performances, I lifted our carb/sugar ban. On the performance days, things were so crazy and busy that we basically ended up taking a 2-3 day break from the diet. I was even exposed to gluten and dairy, for which I dearly payed over the weekend. But life happens.

Then, as we were both exhuasted and recuperating from the play, I got the brilliant idea that this candida diet wasn't strict enough, and that we needed to ditch sweet potatoes (along with already having thrown out grains and most sugar) and while we were at it, why not go full-on into the intro diet for GAPS? I read how starches and complex carbs can become food for candida and gut bacteria if your digestive system can't break them down completely. I can feel a carb/sugar hit after eating a large enough serving of a sweet potato and didn't want to inadvertently feed these pesky organims, so I ditched our eggs, bacon, stir-fries, pumpkin seeds, and just about everything else in favor of only eating soup for several days. This did not go over well with Michelle. It was too hard for her to get her carbs in when she didn't like the squash or zucchini. We lasted two days. GAPS may be a great diet, but doing it at the same time as another diet that restricts simple sugars leaves you with your cup of berries and squash as your only carb/sugar options.. Instead, after the candida diet, I may look into and loosely follow the specific carbohydrate diet (SCD) for a few weeks, which seems to be a less-strict precursor to the GAPS diet, similar in that it doesn't make complex carbs a huge part of the diet. Michelle and I both feel better after eating berries vs. something more complex like sweet potatoes, so I'm interested to see how I feel eating more carbs in the way of fruit rather than starch after our candida diet is up.

And that leads me to our change in plans:

I felt I needed more time to recover from cheating during the play weekend, so now I'm planning on staying on the candida diet for 11 weeks, total. We are approaching the end of the 6th week now. Michelle, on the other hand, will start introducing coffee and sugar after week 8. She's involved in a labor-intensive service project that week, so it will be a good time for her to introduce more carbs into the diet. I'm not doing a lot of physical work so I have no such excuse. Oh, well.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page