top of page

Update: Doctor and Diet

I met with my functional medicine doctor regarding my test results last week. He said exactly what I wanted him to say: I'm messed up but he thinks he can help. It was VERY refreshing to see abnormal labs and hear a doctor say that he could see on paper why I feel so sick.

The results: I have very low cholesterol, low vitamin D, blood sugar and digestive issues, an overactive immune system/possible autoimmunity, malabsorption leading to muscle wasting and decreased bone density, subpar adrenal function influencing chronic dehydration, and low thyroid function caused by faulty neurotransmitter signals. I'm taking a food sensitivity test this week and then we're going to work on fixing my digestive system and supporting brain/adrenals/thyroid and then we'll take it from there. I expect to be working on all this with my doctor for about a year.

About my elimination diet I did for six weeks this summer: I've reintroduced eggs and grains.....and I am so ready to go back to my elimination diet. I've been in extra pain and nauseous ever since starting to reintroduce foods, although as I'd expected, white rice doesn't affect me quite as harshly as whole grains. So, I'm going back to a careful diet and actually taking it a step farther to go strict AIP. Nothing but meat, fruits and vegetables, healthy fats and natural sweeteners for me. Oh, and a cup of 1/2-caff organic coffee once a week :D (not strictly AIP, but hey, you gotta live a little!) I'm excited and feel confident, since I thrived on my elimination diet and learned not to feel deprived. I can even make AIP-friendly peach cobbler or apple pie for my birthday if I want.

Once I get my food sensitivity test results back in a couple weeks, I'll schedule my next appointment with my doctor and start treatment. Here goes.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page