top of page

5th Gear, Full Throttle

Michelle and I have almost passed the two-week mark (woohoo!). She feels ok but is still a little out of commission. I am in the middle of an SEID flare and am not out of the woods, but I got a day off today, so I used the time for some serious rest before making stew, artichokes, and sweet potato chips for a nice dinner tonight.

This past week, my goals were to go totally grain-free myself, and for Michelle to eat only properly prepared grains. I'm laughing now...we soaked some seeds at the beginning of the week, but that was it. I just did not have the energy to carry it through the rest of the week. And I probably had almost as many blue corn chips as she did.

So...THIS week, we are jumping in 5th gear, full throttle. The program we're following has two phases: phase 1, eliminating the fungus (4-6 weeks), and phase 2, rebuilding the digestive and immune systems (2-4 weeks). We have one more month for phase 1, and we are going to make the most of it, drinking bone broth and turmeric ginger lemonade more regularly, and eliminating grains and nightshades all together, except for one nice meal with gluten-free rice or pasta on the weekend. Grains are hard on the digestive tract and are not as nutrient-dense as starchy vegetables, and nightshades (white potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, etc.) can cause inflammation and increase muscle and joint pain in sensitive individuals. Michelle doesn't know we're doing this yet, but she'll thank me later...I hope.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page